New Router

Let's discuss your opinions, suggestions, ideas, etc. related to software and technology.
Post Reply
User avatar
RAM4JC
Posts: 11
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Reeders

New Router

Post by RAM4JC » August 20th, 2016, 8:25 pm

I have a smokin' hot WRGT54G router. Nevertheless, I would like to upgrade the router. My question is, when I get a new one is there some kind of a corresponding card I need to get for the CPU?

User avatar
wd
Site Admin
Posts: 4031
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Pa
Contact:

Re: New Router

Post by wd » August 21st, 2016, 2:08 pm

the new routers are AC speed so if you want AC speed the adapter on your devices needs to be AC otherwise they will connect at whatever speed they were designed for so G card will only connect at G and N will only connect at N speed so they will work but you won't get AC speed

User avatar
RAM4JC
Posts: 11
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Reeders

Re: New Router

Post by RAM4JC » August 22nd, 2016, 10:36 pm

I have a line speed of G10 from BRC. I'm not sure but if I read about it correctly it would be sufficient enough to get a Linksys N900. Is that a correct assumption?

User avatar
wd
Site Admin
Posts: 4031
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Pa
Contact:

Re: New Router

Post by wd » August 23rd, 2016, 5:11 am

Good luck with any speeds from BRC

User avatar
RAM4JC
Posts: 11
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Reeders

Re: New Router

Post by RAM4JC » August 23rd, 2016, 8:09 am

I don't know what you mean by wishing me good luck with BRC. There are no other options available except for satellite, and I'm not going that route.

User avatar
wd
Site Admin
Posts: 4031
Joined: March 11th, 2010, 1:00 pm
Location: Pa
Contact:

Re: New Router

Post by wd » August 23rd, 2016, 3:18 pm

I have BRC and never see the speeds they claim I should get ...I gave up calling them and waiting on them ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Talk”